Media Enquiries: 04 2820302 (24hr)

Lower Taxes, Less Waste,
More Transparency

Championing Value For Money From Every Tax Dollar

SkyCity Petition

John Key: don't use our taxpayer money on a SkyCity convention centre.

We say a deal's a deal.


Back in May 2013 when the SkyCity convention centre was announced, the Government promised a national convention centre suitable for between 3,500 and 5,000 attendees in return for allowing SkyCity to have more pokies and tables. Throughout the 2014 election, the Government told New Zealanders that we were getting a 'free' convention centre. The deal was done, the ink was apparently dry.

Now SkyCity are trying to rip us all off. They've filed plans for a convention centre for only 1,500 and 3,000. As a result, John Key and Steven Joyce aren't ruling out dipping into our pockets and forking out for SkyCity.


New Zealand Taxpayers' Union Inc.

You spoke and they listened!

Steven Joyce has announced that no taxpayer money is going to be used to support SkyCity’s convention centre. Instead, SkyCity are going back to the drawing board to come up with a cheaper design. Fantastic.

In just a few days more than fifteen hundred people signed our petition and the message got through to Mr Joyce and SkyCity. This is a win for the little guy.

While there could be devil in the detail - and don't worry we'll be making sure that SkyCity don’t now try to build something a fraction of the size that was promised - today at least taxpayers can breathe a sigh of relief.


Sign our petition to tell John Key not to use taxpayer money on SkyCity - we'll deliver the signatures to Parliament later in this month. 

Who's signing

Lyn Happy
Owen kenneally
George Cooper
Fareeza Hassan
Abby Lawrence
Bill &  Val west
Kamahl Duncan
Lynne Merrick
Robyn Verrall
Ngaio coppins
Barry Crampton
Barry Crampton
Tony Kerr
Jacob Dijkstra
Jacob Dijkstra
Audrey Hill
Ana Kennedy
M.A.Penn Penn
Braden Prideaux
Rachel Fiso
Rachel Fiso
David Sutherland
Murray D'Ath-Weston
Samuel Weir
Ruth Blair
Colin Emett
Craig sinkinson
Stewart Anderson
Michael Parsisson
Shanee Mabbett
2,000 signatures

Will you sign?

Showing 1233 reactions

  • Lyn Happy
    signed 2015-04-26 09:56:01 +1200
  • Owen kenneally
    signed 2015-04-03 21:36:22 +1300
  • George Cooper
    signed 2015-02-27 12:18:12 +1300
  • Fareeza Hassan
    signed via 2015-02-23 11:45:18 +1300
  • Abby Lawrence
    signed 2015-02-22 11:33:52 +1300
  • Bill &  Val west
    signed 2015-02-20 12:15:44 +1300
  • Kamahl Duncan
    signed 2015-02-17 08:10:03 +1300
  • Lynne Merrick
    signed via 2015-02-16 19:30:32 +1300
  • Robyn Verrall
    posted about this on Facebook 2015-02-16 19:06:20 +1300
    I just signed the @TaxpayersUnion's petition to stop taxpayer money being given to SkyCity.
  • Ngaio coppins
    signed via 2015-02-15 20:56:02 +1300
  • Barry Crampton
    posted about this on Facebook 2015-02-15 20:11:24 +1300
    I just signed the @TaxpayersUnion's petition to stop taxpayer money being given to SkyCity.
  • Barry Crampton
    signed via 2015-02-15 20:09:58 +1300
  • Tony Kerr
    signed via 2015-02-15 19:46:37 +1300
  • Jacob Dijkstra
    posted about this on Facebook 2015-02-15 16:54:51 +1300
    I just signed the @TaxpayersUnion's petition to stop taxpayer money being given to SkyCity.
  • Jacob Dijkstra
    signed via 2015-02-15 16:54:39 +1300
  • Audrey Hill
    signed via 2015-02-15 16:42:55 +1300
  • Ana Kennedy
    signed 2015-02-15 16:11:21 +1300
  • M.A.Penn Penn
    signed via 2015-02-15 15:51:08 +1300
  • Braden Prideaux
    signed via 2015-02-15 15:48:00 +1300
  • Rachel Fiso
    posted about this on Facebook 2015-02-15 14:33:25 +1300
    I just signed the @TaxpayersUnion's petition to stop taxpayer money being given to SkyCity.
  • Rachel Fiso
    signed 2015-02-15 14:32:58 +1300
  • David Sutherland
    signed via 2015-02-15 13:56:09 +1300
  • Murray D'Ath-Weston
    signed via 2015-02-15 13:48:02 +1300
  • Samuel Weir
    signed via 2015-02-15 13:17:40 +1300
  • Ruth Blair
    signed 2015-02-15 12:39:18 +1300
  • Colin Emett
    signed 2015-02-15 12:28:12 +1300
  • Craig sinkinson
    signed 2015-02-15 12:21:14 +1300
  • Stewart Anderson
    signed via 2015-02-15 11:48:49 +1300
  • Michael Parsisson
    signed 2015-02-15 10:59:35 +1300
  • Shanee Mabbett
    signed 2015-02-15 10:27:56 +1300

Join Us

Joining the Taxpayers' Union costs only $25 and entitles you to attend our annual conference, AGM and other events.


With your support we can make the Taxpayers' Union a strong voice exposing waste and standing up for Kiwi taxpayers.

Tip Line

Often the best information comes from those inside the public service or local government. We guarantee your anonymity and your privacy.